DR CI:LABO Cleansing Gel Super Sensitive

28 August, 2010 § Leave a comment


DR CI:LABO Cleansing Gel Super Sensitive 120g 2,992円 (税込)

I’ve almost finished this, even though I don’t think I’ve been using this for much more than a month. It’s my first time using a cleansing gel (I’m usually a cleansing milk type of person), so maybe I’ve been using it a little too liberally. Right now I’m hoping my new cleansing products will arrive in the post before I finish this one up.

DR CI:LABO is a cosmeceutical skin care (and makeup) brand from Japan, and as is obvious from the name, the man behind it is a doctor and dermatologist. The products have a “scientific” tilt to them, and the philosophy behind the brand is simplicity (and science). The Super Sensitive line in particular was supposedly designed to protect the barrier function of delicate skin. (The products in the regular line are also meant to be gently, but I suppose these are doubly so.) I bought the few items in the Super Sensitive line together as a set earlier this year (or maybe it was late last year?). I doubt I would have been interested in this cleansing gel otherwise, but I don’t have any regrets giving it a try.

(I was originally intending on taking some photos of the actual gel, but it’s on strict rations at the moment, so I’m not sure whether I’ll get around to it…)

This was my first cleansing gel so I wasn’t too sure what to expect, but it’s basically a clear, scentless gel. It doesn’t feel thick or rich (in the moisturising sense), but more, I suppose, refreshing. I think it would be lovely for summer. But for winter, and dry weather in general, I would prefer something richer and more moisturising. I don’t think this adds any moisture to my skin, and is possibly even slightly drying.

It spreads easily, and melts into a watery consistency when massaged in. Personally, I feel it isn’t as efficient a makeup remover as the cleansing milks I’ve used in the past. It does get everything makeup-related off (as far as I can tell), but with more massaging involved than what I would usually need with a cleansing milk. I also feel it isn’t as gentle as a cleansing milk. This doesn’t irritate my skin, but because it melts into a liquid there’s more friction and rubbing.

One thing I like about it, though, is that it rinses off very easily and cleanly. I feel I don’t have to use my facial cleanser after it (but I still do out of habit). And also I like using this to remove sunscreen on my neck. I feel cleansing milks are a little messy for that, and often leave a residue.

I usually use a walnut sized amount. Maybe this is too much, but I like using my cleansing products generously. I don’t use it to remove eye makeup, for which I have a separate remover, but the few times I’ve accidentally gotten it into my eyes, it stung. I do have sensitive eyes though, so maybe it is just me. But I’m also not convinced enough of its efficacy at makeup removal to try it on mascara and eyeliner.

While I’m not about to convert to cleansing gels and use them exclusively — I still like my cleansing milks and creams too much — I wouldn’t mind trying the odd one here and there in future. As for this particular one, I probably wouldn’t repurchase as I like trying new products, but I’ve been quite happy using it.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DR CI:LABO Cleansing Gel Super Sensitive at ザ・RAINBOW・スター⁉.

meta

