SHISEIDO Ma Cherie Hair Treatment (Old)

25 August, 2010 § Leave a comment


SHISEIDO Ma Cherie EX Hair Treatment NA and Platina Veil Treatment N 220g 1,260円 (税込)

This is the old version of Ma Cherie. The line (and packaging!) was revamped earlier in the year, and both these products were discontinued and replaced. I haven’t had the pleasure of trying the new line, but I rather like these older ones (at least compared to the other Japanese drugstore hair products I’ve tried), and I’m a little sad they’ve been discontinued. It does seem pointless to write about something that’s been discontinued, but it took a number of months for these two to make their way across the seas to me.

The old Ma Cherie had two product lines differentiated according to hair type, or rather desired effect, hence the colour coded tubes in these pictures. The pink (or purple, I can never quite decide) tubes are for glossy, silky (さらさら) hair; while the orange ones are moisturising (しっとり) for glossy hair. Basically, they’re both meant to add a glossy sheen to hair, but the orange tubes tend to be richer than the pink ones. (And I’ve found this to be true.)


Personally, after using both tubes (and a few others not pictured here over an extended period of time), I feel there is some difference between the pink and orange line. As mentioned, I found the formulation for the oranges tubes to be a little richer and heavier. But personally, I don’t feel the difference is great enough that I would prefer one over the other.

Perhaps the most notable difference between them is scent. They both have somewhat typical scents for Japanese hair products, at least amongst those I’ve tried. I’m not overly fond of this type of fragrance as I tend to find them a tad too synthetic. But I quite like the scent of the pink tube better. It reminds me, vaguely and in a good way, of bubblegum. The orange tube is more of a standard scent, and I don’t like it as much.


(Please excuse the sticky tape still stuck to the tubes. I only remove them when I start using them.)

My hair is somewhat long, straight and generally “normal”, in the sense that it’s not particularly thick, sparse, coarse, fine, etc. The combination of dry weather and hard water, however, means that my hair can get very dry and tangled. I’ve dyed my hair once previously, but it’s since grown out (except perhaps for the tips), so I’m back to natural hair.

I use these hair treatments daily instead of conditioner, and so far they’ve made my hair very soft. I find the pink tube better when it comes to adding gloss and reducing frizz, but the orange tube is more moisturising. I find both of them a little heavy, particularly in humid weather where I have to watch the amount I use to avoid ending up with limp hair. However, I’ve found this common to all the Japanese hair treatment and mask products I’ve used. I also feel they tend to leave some residue and take a bit more effort to rinse out than the western (salon) products I’ve used. (It’s probably unfair to compare drugstore products with salon ones, but I don’t have much of a comparison otherwise.)

Softness aside, these don’t actually moisturise my hair enough. It seems they add a layer around my hair, but I’m still prone to tangles and my hair ends are still dry.

Perhaps as a reference I should add that I’ve also tried SHISEIDO Super Mild, multiple Tsubaki and KAO Essential and KOSE Salon Style. Ma Cherie has been the best of the lot for me (some of the others were quite horrible), but I’ve had better results with western salon products. The main advantage of Ma Cherie (and similar) to me is the price, and I probably would try the new version if I happened upon it, but most likely with the expectation I wouldn’t love it.


Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading SHISEIDO Ma Cherie Hair Treatment (Old) at ザ・RAINBOW・スター⁉.

meta

