DR CI:LABO Aqua-Collagen-Gel Super Sensitive

9 February, 2010 § 3 Comments


DR CI:LABO Aqua-Collagen-Gel Super Sensitive 50g 3,990円 (税込)

Aqua Collagen Gel is a cult product from DR CI:LABO, a dermatologist-founded brand from Japan. It’s supposed to be a five-in-one product with the effectiveness of toner, milky lotion (here I think they mean moisturiser), beauty essence, whitening essence and makeup base. I’ve always been a bit skeptical about all-in-one products despite the alluring premise so in practice I use separate products for the toner, essence, makeup base etc. (●´ω`●)ゞエヘヘ

There are a few versions of Aqua Collagen Gel, but I chose the Super Sensitive version because it’s the lightest of the bunch, and it has an ATP Complex for sensitive skin. ヾ(´▽`*)ゝあーい♪

I’ve only used this for a month, which I think is too short for an adequate review, but I finished the tub today so I’ll write some of my thoughts down anyway. ゚.+:。(´ω`*)゚.+:。ポッ

The 50g tub is a “mini” size with about 1-1.5 months usage (according to the DR CI:LABO website). There’s also a 120g size, which I definitely plan on getting later. (*`▽´*)ウヒョヒョ

Although it’s a “mini”, the tub comes with a little plastic spatula tucked inside the lid. I like how you can keep the spatula inside the lid when you’re not using it so it doesn’t get dirty. +.゚(*´∀`)b゚+.゚イィ

The gel itself is translucent white with a light texture. I tried the regular Super Moisture version of Aqua Collagen Gel, and the Super Sensitive is definitely lighter in texture. It’s easy to spread and sort of “melts” into a watery lotion. It absorbs quickly but I find it leaves a slight sticky feel.

I like the idea of ceramides and hyaluronic acid in Aqua Collagen Gel, and the absence of colouring, fragrance, mineral oil and parabens. But I used this in cold, winter weather and… I don’t think it was moisturising enough for me, despite the generous amount I used each time. The sides of my cheeks along the jawline felt rough and I sometimes had flaky skin. 。゚:;。+゚(ノω・、)゚+。::゚。:.゚。+。

I think the enlarged pores around the centre of my face looked a little less obvious after I started using this, but I think it was maybe clogging my pores. I get lots more clogged pores when my skin isn’t getting enough moisture so it might not actually be something in the ingredient list. (。=`ω´=)ぇ?

The ATP Complex is a blend of Chinese and Japanese plant extracts that is supposed to help repair the barrier function of sensitive skin. I think one month’s use is too short so notice much, and I don’t think my skin is “stronger”, but I think this was able to calm my skin down a little when it was irritated and sore.


I’m using CeraVe PM now (egged on by the forum! (つ∀`*)っ))⌒☆きゃはは). I don’t think it’s going to get a post but I think the time-released formula works better for me.

I took this photo a few days ago on the way to breakfast, the day after it stopped snowing. It’s amazing how the landscape is transformed when there’s snow. Everything is so white and pretty! ☆:*・゚(●´∀`●)ホェ:*・゚

It’s been snowy since Friday, and today it started snowing again. I don’t think I’ll be going anywhere anytime soon… 彡(´∀`;●)彡 ヒューヒュー

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to DR CI:LABO Aqua-Collagen-Gel Super Sensitive

  • Blair says:

    I like how they designed it, being able to tuck in the little spatula is very convenient!

    Thanks for reviewing this gel! I just mentioned the Super Moisture version in my blog a while ago :)

    • littlewing says:

      Yup, the little spatula design is really nifty! ;) Makes it much less likely to lose the spatula for absentminded people like me. :P

      Thank you for taking the time to stop by as well. :)

  • I have read so many articles or reviews concerning the blogger lovers except this piece of writing
    is actually a fastidious paragraph, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DR CI:LABO Aqua-Collagen-Gel Super Sensitive at ザ・RAINBOW・スター⁉.

meta

