GUERLAIN Ombres Eclat 4 Couleurs (403 Mysterious Butterfly)

9 January, 2010 § 8 Comments


GUERLAIN Ombres Eclat 4 Couleurs 4×1.5g
403 Mysterious Butterfly (LE)

Happy (very belated) 2010! ♥ The last few days of the old year (I always think of them as “dead days” now, after reading the book (ノω`*)んふふ♪) always seem to drag by for me, but the start of the new year moves very fast! (ノ∀≦。)ノぷぷ-ッ笑 This is my first post for the year, and coincidentally also the 100th post… which seems like a good start, lol (〃^∇^)o彡☆あははははっ

I’m always very lazy during the holiday period, and the short winter daylight hours and bad lighting in the apartment aren’t helping. These are my excuses for not blogging. (´・ω・`;A) アセアセ The bad lighting is driving me a bit nutty though, so I’m thinking the EOTDs and proper reviews won’t be with the pictures and swatches any more. They’re a bit hard if you can’t really tell what you’re doing in front of the mirror! 彡(-ω-;)彡ヒューヒュー

403 Mysterious Butterfly was the LE palette from the Holiday 2008 collection. ← I know, how slow am I? 彡(´∀`;●)彡 ヒューヒュー This was a Christmas present from a dear friend. ♥ It’s taken me a while to make it work though, but I’m getting there… hopefully.

The first thing that struck me about this palette is the gorgeous LE packaging. ♥ I like how GUERLAIN has different packaging for their LE palettes. And this one is one of the nicest I think. I like the lilac colour and butterfly pattern, so here’s a close-up.

The butterfly pattern is repeated on the inside as well. The silver gets dusted off very easily, but I’ve been trying to preserve it. Unlike Fleur de Feu, the motif is centred, so it’s easier to keep it intact. The applicators have also been redesigned to match the packaging, which I think is a nice touch.

The picture above is probably the most accurate one colour-wise. My camera had trouble, as it always does with purples, getting the tone of the bottom right purple shade right (even if I did do some tweaking in Photoshop after…). (ノω・、) ウゥ・・・ And most of the pictures show it cooler than it really is in Real Life, where I think it looks more mauve-y. The other three shades look quite accurate on my computer.



As best as I can describe the four shades in the palette (which is not very well), they are a shimmery pale gold white and a warm, rosy(?) pink with pearly shimmer in the top row, and a light lavender and matte violet in the bottom row.

Swatches:

The main letdown is the lack of pigmentation. While the eyeshadows are all smooth and silky, they tend to be quite firmly pressed, which also means minimal flyaway powder and fallout. The more shimmery shades in the top row have better colour payoff than the more matte bottom row shades which don’t show up as well in the swatches. I think the darkest violet shade has the poorest pigmentation out of the four. The shades can be layered for more intensity, but the overall effect is still on the sheer side. It’s a pity, because the colours are very pretty.

I really like the butterfly pattern so I took a few more close-up pictures of it. (≧ω≦。)プププ


Overall, the pink packaging and butterflies make this a very pretty palette. It definitely inspires the collector within me. The four shades in the palette look gorgeous together, but the lack of pigmentation has definitely been more than a minor annoyance for me, and I’m still experimenting with it.

I haven’t done any shopping this week, but I found this hoodie last weekend on sale. ☆:*・゚(●´∀`●)ホェ:*・゚ It’s not quite the normal type of thing I buy, but I thought it was quite cute. What do you think? (I’m beginning to think Mr Johnny killed my taste and quite a long time ago too, after a “space age” comment regarding the top in my previous post. (●´ω`●)ゞエヘヘ)

I went to the National Geographic Museum in the afternoon and saw Paul Nicklen’s Polar Obsession exhibition, which was amazing! ☆⌒v⌒v⌒ヾ((`・∀・´)ノ ヒャッホーィ♪ The photos are also on his website, including some that weren’t shown in the museum, since he seems to be releasing a book as well. One of my favourites was this photo of a leopard seal.


There were lots of squirrels in one of the squares I was walking through on the way to the Smithsonian. They’re much cuter than monkeys or possums… ((´∀`*))ヶラヶラ

Tagged:

§ 8 Responses to GUERLAIN Ombres Eclat 4 Couleurs (403 Mysterious Butterfly)

  • the_great_wuzitian_is_moi says:

    omg omg i’m in love with Paul Nicklen Polar Obsession!!! @__@
    not so much the leopard seal tho :P
    n squirrels r such a pest in the states imo … they r everywhere. n somehow they didn’t have those really huge fury tails as i had always imagined from chinese stories =_=
    hehe i was wondering why ur palette looks familiar

    • littlewing says:

      lol @ familiarity ;P

      Did you see the photos of the two polar bears? That one was awesome too! :D Yeah, I know squirrels are pests, which is why I grouped them with monkeys and possums (although squirrels are much cuter!). XD;

      • the_great_wuzitian_is_moi says:

        do u mean the 2 polar bears that r mirror image of each other? on the cover? i really like the shots of blue waters with white ice … love ice (self-obsessive lol :P)
        i think monkeys are really cute tho!

        don’t want to go to the US anytime soon …still haven’t gotten over all the stuff from there…so kinda anti-US

        • littlewing says:

          Nope, not the picture of the polar bear and his reflection. There was a photo of two polar bears, prod me and I’ll send it to you (I mean, the photo I took of it).

          Monkeys are cute, but I’m still annoyed because they stole my tomato bread before I could eat it! DX

  • the_great_wuzitian_is_moi says:

    i want to go to national geographic museum T_____________T
    sigh… why does US have everything i like :@
    yeah the hoodie does seem not ur usual style :P … but i like it XD

  • xbbkay says:

    OMG THAT PALLETE IS GORGEOUS!!!!! i realy want it nowww.>AHHH..it’s too pretty to use!….i would buy it just to look at it..hehehe. JK! .THANKS for SHARING!

    *calms down….

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading GUERLAIN Ombres Eclat 4 Couleurs (403 Mysterious Butterfly) at ザ・RAINBOW・スター⁉.

meta

