AESOP Fabulous Face Cleanser & Parsley Seed Toner

3 December, 2009 § Leave a comment


AESOP Fabulous Face Cleanser 100ml $30.50/200ml $45.50
AESOP Parsley Seed Anti-Oxidant Facial Toner 100ml $37.50/200ml $62.50

These are the last two AESOP products I have, so if you’re sick of seeing AESOP here this is (probably) the last time. I’m interested in a few other products from their line, namely the B Triple C Gel (which is expensive!) and the Parsley Seed Eye Serum or Cream, but my “stock” seems to accumulate faster than I can use them so I’m going to try to finish a number of other things first. 彡(´∀`;●)彡 ヒューヒュー

As for these two products, I think they’re decent products, but not particularly exciting or outstanding. I don’t like the Parsley Seed Toner much and I wouldn’t repurchase either because I think there would be many other (cheaper) products that perform basic cleansing and toning functions.

Both these products come in glass bottles. I like the glass bottles but they are a little troublesome to pack. Also, both these products have a strong botanical smell. I happen to like the scents so they don’t bother me at all. I find them quite soothing actually. ((´∀`*))ヶラヶラ

I’m quite glad I bought the smaller 100ml bottle as there are many other cleansers I want to try. ( *´艸`)クスクス The 100ml bottle looks small but I don’t need to use much each time so it lasts a long time.

The cleanser is a watery liquid. The bottle has an open mouth, which I dislike as it’s too easy to pour out too much.

This is a non-foaming cleanser. I’m more used to, and prefer, foaming cleansers, which is the main reason I wouldn’t repurchase this. I like the reassurance of some foam because it feels like it cleans better (although of course that’s not the case but it’s a psychological thing… (*`▽´*)ウヒョヒョ).

I find this a gentle, but effective cleanser. It cleans well and doesn’t irritate or sting my skin even when it is sore and sensitive. It’s supposed to be non-drying and I find this true when I use it in humid, tropical climates. However in colder and dryer weather my face still feels a little tight after washing with this. (I have combination-oily skin that is very prone to dehydration.)

I think it’s a little hard to rinse off though. It feels slippery and I rinse more than I would with a foaming cleanser to get rid of the slippery feeling.

Overall I think it’s a decent cleanser but it’s not particularly cheap so I think it wouldn’t be too hard to find cheaper (but probably non-botanical) alternatives. Although if the botanical aspect is important to you, like it is to me, I think this is quite a good option. +.゚(*´∀`)b゚+.゚イィ


I bought this Parsley Seed Toner to complete my Parsley Seed lineup. (つω`*)テヘ I bought the larger 200ml version (but the bottle doesn’t look very big) and after using it liberally for a few months there isn’t much left. Unlike the Fabulous Face Cleanser, there’s a sort of plastic stopper(?) over the mouth of the bottle so it’s easy to get the right amount onto a cotton pad.

Firstly, this is a traditional toner in the sense that it is meant to complete the cleansing process by removing any leftover dirt and prepare the skin for moisturising, and I think this toner does achieve this. However I usually use hydrating toners and don’t pay much attention to the traditional function of toners. I’m more interested in hydration, which I don’t think this toner really achieves. It’s not drying, but neither does it add moisture. On the positive side, it’s easily absorbed and alcohol free.

However, and despite the aloe juice and blue chamomile in the ingredients list, it makes my face sting. (ノω・、) ウゥ・・・ I don’t have a problem with the other Parsley Seed products (except for the mask, I can’t use any of the AESOP masks) so I was expecting a good experience with the toner as well. Unfortunately it does sting quite painfully when my face is more sensitive. ・*:.。. (ノ´ω`・。)・*:.。. クスン

And of course, therefore, I wouldn’t repurchase this.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading AESOP Fabulous Face Cleanser & Parsley Seed Toner at ザ・RAINBOW・スター⁉.

meta

