GUERLAIN Ombre Eclat 4 Couleurs (400 Fleur de Feu)

17 September, 2009 § Leave a comment

077-1
GUERLAIN Ombre Eclat 4 Couleurs Fleur de Feu 6g

This was the LE palette release with the black gold casing (I have to say I like the black gold case much better than the regular gold packaging ヾ(´▽`*)ゝあーい♪) from Spring 2008. Incidentally, Fleur de Feu was the name of a now-discontinued post-war GUERLAIN fragrance.

I’m always attracted to the colour combinations of GUERLAIN eyeshadow palettes (they look too pretty in the pan! (o ̄∀ ̄)ノ”ぁぃ), but the texture has been somewhat of a letdown. (ノω・、) ウゥ・・・ So while I do love the shades in this palette, I hate using it! o(`ω´*)oフン!!!

077-2

The black velvet case is a huge dust/fluff magnet, but it keeps the actual palette case nice and shiny and scratch-free so I’m not really complaining. ((´∀`*))ヶラヶラ

077-3
077-4

… Maybe you’re supposed to remove the plastic separator (but this thought only just occurred to me)? 彡(´∀`;●)彡 ヒューヒュー There was a single-sided fine-tipped sponge applicator as well, but I accidentally dropped it down the sink a long time ago. ・・・(=ェ=`;)シーン They’re quite nice, as far as sponge applicators go. I particularly liked the fine-tipped one, but it’s gone.

077-5
077-6

Sadly the shimmery flower pattern gets rubbed off on the first use. (ノω・、) ウゥ・・・ It was all over the right shades, so it wasn’t really possible to preserve it. (My Midnight Butterfly pattern is still intact though. (*⌒∇⌒*)テヘ♪)

077-7
077-8

This palette gives me a mysterious, yet passionate image. It’s a spring palette, but really, it doesn’t remind me of spring(?) and looks like it’d be perfectly at home with smokey looks(?). I suppose this means it’s versatile HAHAHA. (゚∀゚ )≡ モヒョヒョヒョヒョ

Swatches:
077-9
077-10

The eyeshadows are very firmly pressed, which is good because there’s minimal flyaway and powder fallout, but at the same time colour payoff isn’t very good. Unless you use the sponge tips and really dig at them I suppose, but my brushes (and fingers) just don’t pick up enough pigment. (;´Д`A ``` They’re layerable, but I find it overall still on the sheer side. I had to go over each shade for them to show up in the swatches. And the light pink shade is still very, very faint (and doesn’t show up on my lids). ∩(+`ω´+)∩・・・キュゥ Eyeshadow texture is finely milled and velvety though, if that’s any consolation.

The two shades on the left diagonal (a teal(?) grey and hot pink) are finely shimmery, while the two on the right diagonal (pale pink and deep aubergine-y(?) brown) are pretty much matte. I find the shimmery shades to be slightly softer with better colour payoff (but only slightly).

It fades and creases a little (with TFSI or P&J Eye Colour Primer), but on the whole lasting power is quite good.

And the back of the palette. (。-∀-)ニヒ♪

077-11

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading GUERLAIN Ombre Eclat 4 Couleurs (400 Fleur de Feu) at ザ・RAINBOW・スター⁉.

meta

