LUNASOL Colouring Cheeks (EX-01 Sheer Gold Beige Pink)

8 April, 2011 § 2 Comments


LUNASOL Colouring Cheeks 10g refill: 2,625円 (税込)
9 shades

LUNASOL blushes are usually soft, pretty, wearable (and in that regard perhaps not exciting) colours in huge pans, and this one is no exception. EX-01 Sheer Gold Beige Pink was an item in the limited edition Party Coffret, released for Holiday 2010. Unlike the previous time LUNASOL included a blush in their annual Party Coffret (the rather tiny EX-01 Soft Silver Rose), EX-01 Sheer Gold Beige Pink is a full-sized product.

The most remarkable thing about it is probably its mouthful of a name. But it is nevertheless a lovely shade, and one I like a lot.

I’m probably most pleased, despite its relative triviality, by the case design. Regular LUNASOL blushes are sold as refills, with cases for separate purchases. (In such circumstances, given the option, I always buy only the refill.) The cases for purchase are larger as they include space for a (tiny) portable brush. I’m not in the habit of using such brushes, so this case is ideal.

The blush itself is quite fittingly described by its name: Sheer Gold Beige Pink. In the pan it is a peachy-beige-y-pink kind of colour, with subtle gold shimmer. And like the other LUNASOL blushes I have, it is rather sheer, and a number (somewhere in the vicinity of five) of swipes of the brush are needed for it to show up on the cheeks as a noticeable, but soft flush of colour.

I feel this is a blush that’s perfect for everyday wear, and one that is relevant and wearable through all four seasons in the year. (Personally, I’m partial to it in spring, but I would certainly still use it in winter, or any of the remaining seasons.) It is extremely subtle, and the shimmer is indiscernible when applied. It looks very natural on the skin, although, and despite the gold shimmer, it leans slightly on the powdery side.

The strong point of LUNASOL blushes, in my opinion, are their wearability and naturalness, and EX-01 Sheer Gold Beige Pink exemplifies this. It blends effortlessly into the skin.

I feel the texture has improved since the Contasting Cheeks days. The powder is finely milled, and there is less loose, flyaway powder with each brush swipe. I thought the Contrasting Cheeks blushes were a little odd in that my brush did not pick up much powder with each swipe, although there was plenty of loose powder around the pan, but this is not the case with Colouring Cheeks (EX-01 Sheer Cold Beige Pink).


As with my older LUNASOL blushes, I experience a little fading by the end of the day. But again, I feel the Colouring Cheeks blushes, or rather this blush in particular, has improved on the old Contrasting Cheeks.

I haven’t had time to take photos of the blush on me, but I might add one later. On me, it is more peachy than pink, and is an excellent choice for a fresh-faced look. It’s a blush I can use satisfactorily with most, if not all, my eyeshadows and lipsticks (subject to eyeshadow-lipstick coordination of course).

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to LUNASOL Colouring Cheeks (EX-01 Sheer Gold Beige Pink)

  • evie says:

    lunasol oh lunasol~~ how i wish to have one of your blushes XD..but they seems be much focus on their eyeshadows (cos usually lunasol eyeshadows catches my eye) gahh i wanted to buy their holiday coffret last year!but i was too stingy and decided to let it go as i told myself not to over spend and try to use up my overflowing collection-.- the blush looks a tad sheer but i gues it lives up to its name! XD

  • Jess says:

    I always love your in-depth reviews, and this is no exception!

    The name of this blush is definitely a mouthful, haha… I think this is a pretty pink blush on the nude side! I actually prefer wearing it in the wintertime due to the beige gold sheen to it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading LUNASOL Colouring Cheeks (EX-01 Sheer Gold Beige Pink) at ザ・RAINBOW・スター⁉.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

