LUNASOL Sheer Contrast Eyes (02 Lavender Coral)

15 August, 2009 § Leave a comment

062a
LUNASOL Sheer Contrast Eyes 5.5g 5,250円
5 variations

Sheer Contrast Eyes was released for Spring/Summer 2008, with two limited edition variations added for Summer 2008 (I have EX02 Bronze Coral, but I like EX01 Blue Green Coral, which is virtually impossible to find because everyone is holding tightly onto theirs ((´∀`*))ヶラヶラ).

Sheer Contrast Eyes is my favourite LUNASOL spring palette series so far, and the shimmery lighter shades remind me of the sea shimmering in the sun. ☆:*・゚(●´∀`●)ホェ:*・゚

062b

I ♥♥♥♥♥ (!!!) PURPLE so 02 Lavender Coral was the most obvious choice in the series. (≧ω≦。)プププ It’s become the purple palette I use the most often. (I also acquired 01 Coral Coral later, I’m not sure why… σ(´ x `;*)ンート・・・)

The cameras I’ve used aren’t very good with purples, especially without natural light, so even though it looks close enough on my computer screen and browser it looks much better in real life. ヾ(´゚Д゚`;)ゝ エーット・・・

062c
062d

Swatches:

062e
062f

I don’t really like the yellow highlighting shade. It spoils the palette a little for me. ((o(●´皿`●;)o)) クーッ It looks scarily yellow in the pan and although not scarily yellow applied it’s still a little loud for my tastes. (*´ω`)ゝ And it has lots of large, chunky glitter, which I’m not fond of in my highlighters (but this is a more minor point).

But I like the other three colours! ・:*:・゚☆d(≧∀≦)b゚+.゚イイ

The eyeshadow textures are different. The highlighting yellow shade is sort of grainy. The chunky glitter in it makes it seem less finely milled than the other shades. The dark purple feels dry and a little crumbly to me. It looks shimmery in the pan but it’s not really shimmery when I apply it. I like the textures of the pink and light purple shades best. They’re silky and have a moister touch compared to the grainier highlighting and lining shades, and I think the shimmer is very pretty. +.゚(*´∀`)b゚+.゚イィ

This palette (and series) is meant to be worn sheer, but the colour payoff isn’t too bad as the shadows are quite soft so it’s easy to pick up. I get some flyaway powder and fallout with all the shades.

Unfortunately I now often get creasing with LUNASOL eyeshadows (and TFSI… maybe it’s time to break out my UDPP (o ̄∀ ̄)ノ”ぁぃ), although sometimes they don’t crease if I’m lucky! ヾ(´▽`*)ゝあーい♪ I don’t experience fading though.

I do think LUNASOL has released better palettes in terms of eyeshadow texture, but in a similar price range, I think the Sheer Contrast Eyes beats JILL STUART (especially the older Brilliance Eyes palettes). (ノω`*)んふふ♪ COFFRET D’OR texture seems quite similar to me, but LUNASOL is supposed to have added skin care ingredients (according to my local BA) and I think wears better. *:.。☆..。.(´∀`人)

I’m still undecided on this season’s LUNASOL palettes though… (I’m only considering 02, 03, 04) (。´・ω・)ん?

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading LUNASOL Sheer Contrast Eyes (02 Lavender Coral) at ザ・RAINBOW・スター⁉.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

